April 22, 2023

Ultratrail
Fränkische Schweiz

Trail running in the Franconian highlands

Rocky cliffs, caves, and thousands of single track trails found at Ultra Trail Franconian Switzerland (UTFS)

In April 2022, UTFS celebrated its debut and so began a new age for the Franconian highlands. On April 22, 2023 the race returns to the high-profile course through the Wiesent Valley. You will run along the finest single track trails, past climbing rocks, and even through caves. Pure adventure!

UTFS Route

Trail running races through the highlands of Franconia

Speedtrail

33km / 1,380m elevation gain

The race starts and ends in the market square in downtown Ebermannstadt. It’s equally perfect for those new to trail running and those seeking fast race times. This little brother to the Ultra Trail should not be underestimated, though. There are still 1,380 meters of elevation gain and some very technical parts to overcome.

Ultratrail

66km / 2,760 m of elevation gain

Since UTFS was founded as an ultramarathon trail race, this distance will remain our principal distance. We again send you through the beautiful Franconian highlands, with some minor changes to the course from 2022. There are castles, caves, and seemingly endless ups and downs. We ask you to lay it all out there. It might even take your breath away. 

Impressions and Comments

This was UTFS in 2022

Suggested reading

Nice to know connected to UTFS

About us

Who we are and our connection to the Franconian highlands

The UTFS Team

We are five Franconians (either by birth or by choice) who are bound together by an overwhelming passion for (ultra) trail running and by a love for our home trails in the Franconian highlands. Together we plan to stimulate the region by offering trail events and helping to grown a trail running community in the heart of the Franconian highlands.

From left to right: Werner Schlund, Florian Troeger, Stefan Meyer, Johannes Hendel und Matthias Barsch

The Franconian Highlands need not hide behind the Alps. It offers more continuous ups and downs, and more technical and narrow trails which challenge both the body and the mind. About the rise of ultra trail running in the highlands of Franconia.

From Ebermannstadt in Upper Franconia to the base of the Dolomite mountains in Italy, support for UTFS is ever-present and will never be taken for granted. We present …

UTFS Newsletter

Subscribe now and stay up to date

Let's go to UTFS 2023

Got questions? You can reach us at:

Follow us on Instagram and Facebook:

22. April 2023

Ultratrail
Fränkische Schweiz

Trailrunning im Mittelgebirge

Felsen, Höhlen und tausend Singletrails beim Ultratrail Fränkische Schweiz

Im April 2022 feierte der UTFS das Ultratrail-Debüt und damit den Beginn einer Ära im fränkischen Mittelgebirge. Am 22. April 2023 geht es nun erneut auf die hochprofilierte Strecke durch das Wiesenttal. Auf feinsten Singletrails läufst du entlang der Kletterfelsen und sogar durch Höhlen. Erlebnis pur!

UTFS Teilnehmer am Ausgang von einer Höhle in der Fränkischen Schweiz

UTFS Streckenangebote

Trailrunning-Wettkämpfe durch das fränkische Mittelgebirge

Speedtrail

33km | 1380hm

Der Trail startet und endet am Marktplatz Ebermannstadt, ist hervorragend für Traileinsteiger geeignet und lädt gleichermaßen für sehr schnelle Zeiten ein. Unterschätzen solltest du den kleinen Bruder des Ultras aber nicht – immerhin sind 1380 Höhenmeter und einige technische Passagen zu bewältigen.

Ultratrail

66km | 2760hm

Gegründet als Ultratrail, bleibt auch in Zukunft die Ultradistanz unsere Königsdisziplin. Mit kleinen Veränderungen zur Strecke von 2022 schicken wir dich durch die Schönheit der Fränkischen Schweiz. Burgen, Höhlen und ein schier endloses Hoch und Runter wird dir alles abverlangen und so manchem den letzten Nerv rauben. 

Impressionen und Stimmen

Das war der UTFS 2022

Leseempfehlung

Wissenswertes rund um den Ultratrail Fränkische Schweiz

1. Ultratrail Fränkische Schweiz

Drei Wochen nach dem Debüt des Ultratrail Fränkische Schweiz in Ebermannstadt, fällt es uns nun ganz leicht ein Statement über das Erlebte abzugeben: Es war unfassbar geil! Berichte und Impressionen des UTFS 2022

mehr lesen

Über uns

Wir und unsere Verbundenheit mit der Fränkischen Schweiz

Das UTFS-Team

Fünf (Wahl-) Franken, die eines eint: Eine unbändige Leidenschaft für (Ultra-) Trailrunning und die Liebe zu unseren Hometrails in der Fränkischen Schweiz. Gemeinsam haben wir uns vorgenommen, die Region mit dem Trailsport zu beleben, Wettkampfangebote zu schaffen und eine Trailrunning-Community im Herzen der Fränkischen Schweiz heranwachsen zu lassen.

Von links nach rechts: Werner Schlund, Florian Troeger, Stefan Meyer, Johannes Hendel und Matthias Barsch

Die Fränkische Schweiz muss sich nicht hinter den Alpen verstecken. Vielmehr stellt das ständige Auf und Ab, auf zumeist technischen, schmalen Pfaden eine besonders große Herausforderung für Körper und Geist dar. Über die Entstehung des Ultratrails im fränkischen Mittelgebirge.

Vom oberfränkischen Ebermannstadt bis zum Fuße der Dolomiten in Italien: Die Unterstützung für den Ultratrail Fränkische Schweiz ist allgegenwärtig und dabei längst keine Selbstverständlichkeit. Wir stellen vor.

UTFS Newsletter

Jetzt abonnieren und up to date bleiben

Ultratrail Fränkische Schweiz - der Ultralauf im fränkischen Mittelgebirge

auf geht´s zum UTFS 2023

Du hast Fragen? So erreichst du uns:

Folge uns auf Instagram und Facebook: